Road Hurling

Meath Road Hurling Championships 2013 - Christine Fagan
A fun and novel event organised by Boardsmill GAA Club, this event has grown in popularity each year since is inception in 2002.  It's sponsored by local business Frank Pratt & Sons Site Development and attracts huge crowds from all over the county and furthers a field each year. All participants put their sliotar striking accuracy to the test in order to claim the Vincent Guy Perpetual Trophy. This prize is awarded to the highest individual scorer on the day and is donated by the Guy family in memory of former Boardsmill player and member Vincent Guy who passed away in February 2003.

For those who have not witnessed this event to date, the Road Hurling course is situated on the Ballyconnell Road and is approximately 1.5 miles in distance. There are 26 sections on the course, each of which is 90 yards long. There are markers within each section at 30 yards, 45, 60 and 75 yards. Each player is allowed one puck per section and points are awarded based on the distance of each puck i.e. where the sliotar first bounces. Sliotars must bounce on the road for points to be scored. Teams consist of 3 players and prizes are awarded to highest aggregate team score as well as highest individual scorer.

Previous Winners:

 Year  Men IndividualMen's TeamLadies IndividualLadies Team
 2013Thomas Reilly (Boardsmill)Anton Hoey (Boardsmill), James Andrews (Trim), Dylan Kennan (Dunderry)Christine Fagan (Trim)Niamh Guy (Trim), Aoife Thompson (Dunboyne), Laura Dempsey (Boardsmill)
 2012Noel Kirby (Kidalkey)Noel Kirby (Kildalkey), Eoin Potterton  (Kildalkey), Tommy Masterson  (Kildalkey)Shona White (Trim)       Shona White (Trim), Suzy Kennedy (Boardsmill), Katie McGowan (Boardsmill)
 2011Joe Cotter (Boardsmill)Neil Hackett (Dunboyne), Paul Fagan (Dunboyne), Jimmy BoyleEdel Guy (Trim)Avril Gorman (Boardsmill), Micheala Stellini (Boardsmill), Haidee Kelly (Boardsmill)
 2010Thomas Reilly (Boardsmill)Johnny & Stephen Masterson (Boardsmill), Mick Christie (Rathmolyon)   Colette Kelly (Boardsmill)Colette Kelly (Boardsmill), Avril Gorman (Boardsmill), Sandra Dixon (Boardsmill)
 2006 Johnny & Stephen Masterson (Boardsmill), Mick Christie (Rathmolyon)