Club News‎ > ‎

2012 Meath Road Hurling Championships

posted 15 Jan 2012, 15:26 by Suzann McLoughlin

Meath Annual Road Hurling Championships 2012

Monday January 2nd 2012 was the date, the Ballyconnell Road just outside Trim was the venue, the Vincent Guy Memorial Trophy was the prize and Boardsmill GAA Club were the hosts of the 10th Annual Meath Road Hurling Championships. This novel event has gone from strength to strength since its inception in 2002 and this year drew its highest contingent of players with 55 teams taking up their hurls to battle it out for the silverware.

Participating hurling and camogie teams both young and old represented clubs from Boardsmill, Trim, Kildalkey, Rathmolyon, Kilmessan, Longwood, Na Fianna, Dunboyne, Summerhill, Moynalvey, Portumna, Kilkenny and even a first time hurler from New Zealand! For those who have not witnessed this event to date, the Road Hurling course is situated on the Ballyconnell Road and is approximately 1.5 miles in distance. There are 26 sections on the course, each of which is 90 yards long. There are markers within each section at 30 yards, 45, 60 and 75 yards. Each player is allowed one puck per section and points are awarded based on the distance of each puck i.e. where the sliotar first bounces. Sliotars must bounce on the road for points to be scored. Teams consist of 3 players and prizes are awarded to highest aggregate team score as well as highest individual scorer.

At 11am the team with the honor of starting the proceedings stepped up to the first section. They were the first host club team of Gerard Smith, Fergal Smith and local hurley maker Tom Walsh, ably assisted by Tom’s son Evan who tagged along to help get the sliotars out of the ditch.  I’m reliably informed he didn’t have to get too many!! A steady stream of teams continued from then on throughout the afternoon and the weather was kind with only a couple of shorts showers. Those feeling the cold or were a bit peckish were welcomed as always at the Dixon household or also known as the infamous “Halfway House” where everything from biscuits and sandwiches to tea and “Peter’s Punch” were on offer. This was a huge hit again this year as they ran out of “Peter;s Punch” for the later teams! At the end of the road and the 26 sections, the Bird household also offered some refreshments before the participants were ferried back to Boardsmill hall by Fitzsimons Transport.

At the business end of the scoring, continuing in their winning ways of 2011, Senior Club Champions Kildalkey took the title with their winning team of Noel Kirby, Eoin Potterton and Tommy Masterson with Noel Kirby taking the Vincent Guy Memorial Trophy for the highest individual score. The team of Niall Smyth, Alan Watters and Paudie Guy representing Dunboyne and Boardsmill were a close second.  Shona White claimed the individual spoils with the highest ladies score and was also part of the winning ladies team prize with Suzy Kennedy and Katie McGowan representing Boardsmill. The presentations took place in Kiely’s Bar and prizes were presented on behalf of the sponsors by Boardsmill Chairperson, TJ Reilly. The Vincent Guy Memorial Trophy was presented by his son Vinnie.  An enjoyable day was had by all and if you haven’t yet sampled the atmosphere at this unique event, then come along next year and see for yourselff!